

ZONING BOARD OF APPEALS Regular Meeting September 4, 2019 7:00p.m.

1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER

- 2. <u>PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE</u>
- 3. <u>ROLL CALL</u>
- 4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES
 - August 7, 2019 Regular ZBA Meeting

5. CORRESPONDENCE / BOARD REPORTS

• Boards and Commissions Expiration Dates

6. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

- 7. PUBLIC COMMENT: Restricted to (3) minutes regarding issues not on this agenda
- 8. <u>NEW BUSINESS</u>
- 9. OTHER BUISINESS
 - A. VAR 2019-05 Public Hearing 767 Deer Run, Mt Pleasant, MI 48858 Owner: Steve Wieczorek: A variance from section 8.1.F Accessory Building Height (Tabled 6/5/19 ZBA meeting). Grant or deny Variance Request with reason. Conditions may apply)
- 10. EXTENDED PUBLIC COMMENT: Restricted to 5 minutes regarding any issue
- 11. FINAL BOARD COMMENT
- 12. ADJOURNMENT

CHARTER TOWNSHIP OF UNION Zoning Board of Appeals <u>Regular Meeting</u>

A regular meeting of the Charter Township of Zoning Board of Appeals was held on August 7, 2019 at 7:00 p.m. at Union Township Hall.

Meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m.

Roll Call

Present: Bryan Mielke, Andy Theisen, and Tim Warner Excused: Jake Hunter and Taylor Sheahan-Stahl

Others Present

Peter Gallinat, Jennifer Loveberry

Approval of Minutes

Theisen moved Mielke supported the approval of the July 9, 2019 minutes as presented. Vote: Ayes: 3 Nays 0. Motion carried.

Correspondence / Board Reports

Planning Commission updates by the Township Planner

Approval of Agenda

Mielke moved Theisen supported to approve the agenda as presented. Vote: Ayes: 3 Nays 0. Motion carried.

Public Comment: Restricted to (3) minutes regarding issues not on this Agenda

Open – 7:04 p.m. No comments were offered. Closed – 7:04 p.m.

New Business

A. <u>VAR 2019-08 Public Hearing – 5115 Stirrup Ln., Owner: Julie Recker: A variance</u> <u>from section 21, dimensional variance requesting 5.09' for lot width and 1,255 SF</u> <u>for lot area in a R2B District</u>

Introduction of Variance request by Township Planner, Gallinat

Public Hearing Notice was read for Variance 2019-08 for request for a dimensional variance requesting 5.09' for lot width and 1,255 SF for lot area in a R2B district.

Public Hearing Open 7:05 p.m. No comments were offered. Public Hearing Closed 7:05 p.m. Township Planner stated that the applicant rezoned the property in May from R-5 to R-2B so that she could seek a SUP for a group day care home. The Planning Commission held a public hearing for the SUP in July recommending approval of the SUP for a group day care home on the condition that the applicant obtain a dimensional variance.

Discussion was held by the Zoning Board of Appeals, they went through section 5.8.c.1 a-e of the Zoning Ordinance.

Theisen moved **Mielke** supported to approve VAR 2019-08, 5115 Stirrup Ln. based on Section 5.8c1a-e as listed, a special condition exists to this property as it was a pre-plotted lot in the subdivision. **Vote:** Ayes: 3 Nays: 0 Motion Carried.

Township Planner, Gallinat stated that there would be a 21-day appeal period before the decision is final. Starting after the minutes are approved at the next scheduled meeting in September 2019.

Other Business

A. <u>VAR 2019-05 Public Hearing – 767 Deer Run, Owner: Steve Wieczorek: A variance</u> from section 8.1.F Accessory Building Height

Mielke moved Theisen supported to table VAR 2019-05 767 Deer Run, Owner: Steve Wieczorek: A variance from section 8.1.F Accessory Building Height. Vote: Ayes: 3 Nays: 0 Motion Carried.

Extended Public Comment

Open 7:25 p.m. No comments were offered. Closed 7:25 p.m.

Final Board Comment

Chair Warner reminded everyone of the Annual Township Joint Board Meeting on August 27, 2019 that will be held at the Commission on Aging at 7:00 p.m.

Adjournment

Chair Warner adjourned the meeting at 7:28 p.m.

APPROVED BY:

Jake Hunter –Secretary Andy Theisen – Vice Secretary

(Recorded by Jennifer Loveberry)

Charter Township

Planning Commissio	n Board Members (9 Me	mbers) 3 year term		
#	F Name	L Name	Expiration Date	
1-BOT Representative	Lisa	Cody	11/20/2020	
2-Chair	Phil	Squattrito	2/15/2020	
3- Vice Chair	Bryan	Mielke	2/15/2021	
4-Secretary	Alex	Fuller	2/15/2020	
5 - Vice Secretary	Mike	Darin	2/15/2022	
6	Stan	Shingles	2/15/2021	
7	Ryan	Buckley	2/15/2022	
8	Denise	Webster	2/15/2020	
9	Doug	LaBelle II	2/15/2022	
Zoning Boar	d of Appeals Members (5	Members, 2 Alternates)	3 year term	
#	F Name	L Name	Expiration Date	
1-Chair	Tim	Warner	12/31/2019	
2-PC Rep / Vice Chair	Bryan	Mielke	2/18/2021	
3-Secretary	Jake	Hunter	12/31/2019	
4- Vice Secretary	Andy	Theisen	12/31/2019	
5	Taylor	Sheahan-Stahl	12/31/2021	
Alt. #1	John	Zerbe	12/31/2019	
Alt. #2	Liz	Presnell	2/15/2021	
	Board of Review (3 N			
#	F Name	L Name	Expiration Date	
1	Doug	LaBelle II	12/31/2020	
2	James	Thering	12/31/2020	
3	Bryan	Neyer	12/31/2020	
Alt #1	Randy	Golden	1/25/2021	
Citizens Task Force on Sustainability (4 Members) 2 year term				
#	F Name	L Name	Expiration Date	
1	Don	Long	12/31/2020	
2	Mike	Lyon	12/31/2020	
3	vacan		12/31/2018	
4	Phil	Mikus	11/20/2020	
Construction Board of Appeals (3 Members) 2 year term				
#	F Name	L Name	Expiration Date	
1	Colin	Herron	12/31/2019	
2	Richard	Jakubiec	12/31/2019	
3	Andy	Theisen	12/31/2019	
Hannah's Bark Park Advisory Board (2 Members from Township) 2 year term				
1	Mark	Stuhldreher	12/31/2020	
2	John	Dinse	12/31/2019	
Chippewa River District Library Board 4 year term				
1	Ruth	Helwig	12/31/2019	
2	Lynn	Laskowsky	12/31/2021	
	-,	Laskowsky	,, -0	



Board Expiration Dates

EDA Board Members (11 Members) 4 year term				
#	F Name	L Name	Expiration Date	
1	Thomas	Kequom	4/14/2023	
2	James	Zalud	4/14/2023	
3	Richard	Barz	2/13/2021	
4	Robert	Bacon	1/13/2023	
5	Ben	Gunning	11/20/2020	
6	Marty	Figg	6/22/2022	
7	Sarvijit	Chowdhary	1/20/2022	
8	Cheryl	Hunter	6/22/2023	
9	Vance	Johnson	2/13/2021	
10	Michael	Smith	2/13/2021	
11	David	Coyne	3/26/2022	
Mid Michigan Area Cable Consortium (2 Members)				
#	F Name	L Name	Expiration Date	
1	Kim	Smith	12/31/2020	
2	Vacant			
Cultural and Recreational Commission (1 seat from Township) 3 year term				
#	F Name	L Name	Expiration Date	
1	Brian	Smith	12/31/2019	
Sidewalks and Pathways Prioritization Committee (2 year term)				
#	F Name	L Name	Expiration Date	
1 BOT Representative	Kimberly	Rice	11/20/2020	
2 PC Representative	Denise	Webster	8/15/2020	
3 Township Resident	Sherrie	Teall	8/15/2021	
4 Township Resident	Jeremy	MacDonald	10/17/2020	
5 Member at large	Connie	Bills	8/15/2021	